Select Category
Sitemap Help Contact
print article

Cancel Your Domain

Learn how to cancel your domain by deactivating the automatical renewal function.

For your convenience, all domains with 1&1 have the "automatic renewal" feature active. This means that we automatically extend the domain expiration date another year so that you remain owner of your domain.

If you no longer wish to extend the expiration date of your domain, you can cancel your domain or let it expire on its expiration date. Extending the expiration date of an additional domain will be billed with the yearly fee according to the domain's corresponding price.

If you deactivate the automatic renewal for your domain, it will be canceled on the next registration date.

Step 1
Log in to your 1&1 Control Panel and select the relevant package.
Step 2
Click Domains under My Products in the left side menu.
1&1 Control Panel
1&1 Control Panel
Step 3
Click the Actions icon next to the desired domain and select Renewal & Transfer.
Please note:
Before cancelling a domain, make sure you back up any relevant information. For example, you can back up your e-mail accounts, the content of your websites, and possibly even existing databases. It is also recommended that you create a list of all existing e-mail accounts and forwards.
Domain List
Domain List
Step 4
Click the disable renewal link.
Renewal & Transfer Settings
Renewal & Transfer Settings
Step 5
Click the Disable auto-renewal button.
Update Auto-Renewal Settings Prompt
Update Auto-Renewal Settings Prompt
Step 6
Select a reason for your domain's deactivation to help us improve our products and click Next.
Cancellation Reasons
Cancellation Reasons

The automatic renewal for your domain has now been disabled, and your domain will cancel on its expiration date. Afterwards, you will receive a confirmation about the cancellation via e-mail to the e-mail address assigned to your 1&1 account.

You can re-enable automatic renewal at any time to ensure that your domain remains active.